Desktop Diary with LAMP and WordPress

At work I use my netbook to write down meeting minutes, notes, mindmaps and tasks (gtd) . Therefore I use freemind and thinkingrock.

Now I want a tool for writing a diary. Why? I want to optimize the preparation for my annual performance review. So fare I used a mindmap, but this was way off perfect.

Today I reorganized myself 🙂 and looked for a desktop diary tool. There are a lot of tools outside. I tried rednotebook. No thanks. I thought about my requirements and than I got it. Why not using WordPress. WordPress allow me to enter multiple notes a day, I can categorize and I can tag my content. Perfect.

So here we go:

First turn on the LAMP:

L: Linux

I think you got it already

A: Apache


sudo apt-get install apache2

M: mySQL

sudo apt-get install mysql-server

Maybe you want mysql-admin, too.

sudo apt-get install mysql-admin
killall gnome-panel

P: PHP

sudo apt-get install php5 libapache2-mod-php5
sudo apt-get install libapache2-mod-auth-mysql php5-mysql phpmyadmin

To get PHP to work with MySQL, uncomment the “;extension=mysql.so” line in

sudo gedit /etc/php5/apache2/php.ini

Finally, restart apache

sudo /etc/init.d/apache2 restart

Now the LAMP should be on.

Next, install WordPress

Extract WordPress

Extract your WordPress archieve

sudo tar zxvf wordpress-x.x.x.tar.gz --directory=/var/www/

Create Database

Open http://localhost/phpmyadmin and go to permissions.
Create a user wordpress and check the box to create a database with the name of the user as well.

Config WordPress

Goto /var/www/wordpress/ and copy the wp-config-sample.php file to wp-config.php and edit wp-config.php:

// ** MySQL settings ** //
define('DB_NAME', 'wordpress');
define('DB_USER', 'wordpress');
define('DB_PASSWORD', 'yourPassword');
define('DB_HOST', 'localhost');

Run the Installation Script


http://localhost/wordpress/wp-admin/install.php

Open http://localhost/wordpress and start your private desktop blog.

Thanks to supriyadisw:
Install LAMP
Install WordPress

2 Responses to Desktop Diary with LAMP and WordPress

  1. […] If you dont have the knowledge of installing the scripts you want on your website, SiteDuct offers fast script installation service. Read More… […]

Leave a Reply

